RSS

Sidekick Shout Out: First Day at the Bakery

23 Oct

Between CCSU football and hockey games, and my job at the CT Whale selling jersey girl raffle tickets, I was unable to get multiple blog posts up, so instead I asked my sidekick, Devan Miller to help me. Dev and I aren’t only cousins, we’re also best friends.

I’ve talked about her in past posts, and she really is the one with the passion for baking. It’s her goal to open up a bakery someday, and we are using this blog not only as a way of exploring the Connecticut Cupcake culture, but also as an outlet to test out different cupcake recipes! Each week I know which flavor I want to try and create, and she”s always there to help me. 

A couple of weeks ago I interviewed Anne DeFusco, owner of Mr. D’s in Wallingford. As we were talking I mentioned that my cousin is an aspiring baker, and because of that small little mention she now has a job in the bakery. Saturday was her first day working with the team at Mr. D’s and I thought it would be a fun change to have her assist me in the writing side of the blog, not just in the kitchen!!

I started my new job at Mr. D’s Bakery yesterday andI don’t think I have been more nervous in my life. I had no idea what I was going to have to do, who I was working with, I knew nothing other then the fact that Anne liked the way I frosted cupcakes the day I met her for my first interview.

When I got there in the morning, Anne had this huge smile on her face and I felt a little less nervous. Right away I filled a pastry bag and went to work on the cupcakes. I Frosted them, filled some with caramel, rolled some in sugar, I got the hang of that pretty quick. Then i had to figure out what ice cream was what and how much to put in each size cup or cone and how to make a milk shake. I also had to learn how to work the register, to me that’s the hardest part because I still have no idea how to do it. I also need learn how to make cappuccinos and espresso.

I guess you could say it was a bit over whelming, but watching the girls that I worked with yesterday, I know in time it will become second nature.  They were more then helpful toward me, they helped me with whatever I needed help with and they had an answer for any question I had.  Anne and her husband are also very helpful, caring, and wonderful people and I am honored that they have allowed me to be part of their “family” as Anne would call it.  

Me (r) and Devan (L)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Bakeries, Connecticut

 

Leave a Reply

 
