RSS

Holiday Baking Bonanza

28 Nov

Holiday Cookies: Andes Candies and Island Cookies

I love baking cookies. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it 1,000 more times. Once Christmas time comes around my mom and I usually bake two cookies a weekend, which we then freeze in order to make cookie gift platters. The start of our cookie baking extravaganzas usually marks the beginning of the Christmas season! 

This weekend, just days following Thanksgiving, was the first weekend of cookie baking! I realize this is a cupcake blog, but I couldn’t resist also documenting these scrumptious cookies! Besides, who doesn’t love Christmas cookies?

The first cookie we made was Island Cookies, which my mom and I found on the back of the Nestle Toll House milk chocolate morsels package. Not many people look at the back of the packages, but some of the best desserts can be found there!

An island cookie is comprised of chocolate chips, coconut and chopped walnuts. This recipe, is a good twist to the traditional chocolate chip cookie that is normally left for Santa with a glass of milk. I’ve found that beating the cookie dough rather than hand stirring it yields better results. 

Island Cookies

The second cookie my mom and I made was Andes Creme de Menthe Chunk Cookies. We make these cookies every year, and they’re always a huge crowd pleaser! In fact, my Auntie Maureen from England loved them so much that she has my nanny send her the candy bag each year so she can make them! 

Much like the peppermint cupcakes from the post before, these cookies resemble a york peppermint patti that won’t melt in your hand. However, as good as these cookies may be you have to have time set aside to devote to them, only because the dough must chill for one hour before going in the oven.

As a broke college student with moderate baking talent I’ve learned that baked goods are the best gift to give on a budget, so grab the ingredients and start baking because it’s never too early for cookies! 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Desserts

 

Leave a Reply

 
