RSS

Tis The Season…For Cupcakes!

28 Nov

Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes with Chocolate Peppermint Cream Cheese Frosting

Thanksgiving has come and gone and once midnight struck on the bountiful holiday that meant that it became fully acceptable to start preparing for Christmas! For me growing up, the Friday after Thanksgiving wasn’t known as Black Friday, it was the day that I helped my nanny decorate her entire house.

Each year my family and I would eat Thanksgiving dinner at my Nanny and Grandad’s and I would spend the night in order to help them bright and early the next morning. The artificial Christmas tree (needles are too messy for my nanny) was put up, lights were strung, the mini-Christmas village was put up on the mantle and the fake snowflakes were sprinkled on top. 

It’s memories like these that make Christmas time my favorite time of year (minus the start of hockey season of course). No matter how overplayed Christmas movies and songs get, nothing can deter my love for the season. This is why making Christmas-inspired cupcakes were perfectly acceptable to make while my Thanksgiving leftovers still sit in their containers in the fridge.

I was planning on making triple chocolate “Black Friday” cupcakes from Bitchin Kitchen, but when I went shopping this morning with my mom I found Andes peppermint candies in the holiday aisle. Andes candies are a family favorite every year (we usually make mint cookies) so I couldn’t pass up the chance to try them in a cupcake, which was perfect because a cupcake recipe using the morsels happened to be on the back of the package…it was like fate!

In making these cupcakes I broke my own vow and followed the recipe by using a boxed devils food cake mixture. I know I said I would avoid using anything out of a box from now on, but bridesmaid duties kept me tied up for the day and the taste of the cakes wasn’t hindered.

The main difference in using a boxed mixture is the density of the cake. The boxed cupcakes are much lighter and fluffier than a cake made from scratch. However, the peppermint candies in the cupcake and in the frosting added a cooling touch to the sweet chocolate, which reminds me of a york peppermint patti. 

The recipe on the back of the bag not only called for a boxed cake mix, but also a canned frosting, which I couldn’t bring myself to do. Instead I married my original idea with my new inspiration and the result was a fabulous addition to any holiday platter!

Recipe:

Chocolate Cupcakes

1 Box Devils Food Cake mix (holidays are hectic so a boxed mix wouldn’t be such a bad time saver, but any devils food cake recipe would suffice.)

1 C Andes peppermint candy (about half the bag)

Steps:

1. Follow directions on the boxed mix to make the cake batter

2. Fold in the Andes candies and put them in the oven for 18-22 minutes

3. Put the cupcakes aside and let them cool

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Adapted from the Cupcake Project

Recipe

8 oz (1 pkg) of cream cheese frosting- room temperature

1/4 C unsalted butter- room temperature

3 1/2 C confectionery sugar

1/2 C cocoa powder

Peppermint candies- any desired amount (make sure to save some to sprinkle on top)

Steps:

1. Combine the cream cheese and butter until creamy

2. Mix in the confectionery sugar one cup at a time

3. Once the sugar is mixed in add in the cocoa powder

4. Frost the cooled cupcakes and sprinkle the rest of the candies on top.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Cream Cheese, Cupcakes, Desserts

 

Leave a Reply

 
