RSS

Holiday Cookie Platters

22 Dec

First posting that isn’t required by my Web Jrn Class and I have to say it feels almost liberating to know that I can write without getting graded! With that said, again I’m not writing about cupcakes, instead I’m continuing with the cookie theme since Christmas is right around the corner, i.e. three days…YIKES!

So far all I have for gifts are a few odds and ends. Oh and mounds of cookies. A few posts ago I mentioned that as a broke college student I fully endorse giving away baked goods, that is if you can bake. Personally I believe it’s just cruel to wrap up a hardened fruitcake and pass it off as a gift. Instead, my mom and I start baking the week after Thanksgiving and don’t stop until the night we start to put together the cookie platters, which is about four days before Christmas Eve.

Usually my mom brings a few tins to her job as a trucking safety manager, my dad would bring one to his office (not so much anymore), I would bring them to my friend’s house and then we would take a group to my Nana’s house for dessert following our Christmas dinner. All in all it’s a lot of cookies. I wish I had thought to count the amount that we actually made, but I’d lose count and my younger brother would throw me off since he’s the cookie thief of our house. Luckily my mom and I were able to put together the plates while my brother wasn’t home so in the end we finished with a huge variety of some of the most treasured cookie recipes.

Buck Eyes!

Anginettes!!

What We Made:

  • Red & Green M&M Cookies
  • Anginettes (only because I begged my mom since they’re my favorite)
  • White Chocolate Blueberry
  • White Chocolate Macadamia Nut
  • Snickerdoodles
  • Island Cookies
  • Heath Bar Cookies
  • Chocolate Chunk with Walnuts
  • Nut Balls
  • Hershey Kiss Cookies
  • Hershey Kiss with Cookies & Creme Kisses
  • Nutella and Hazelnut Cookies
  • Pilsbury Tree and Reindeer Cookies
  • Buck eyes
  • Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter/Nutella Ritz Sandwiches
  • Chocolate Cookies with White Chocolate Chips
  • Walnut Brownies
  • Cheesecake Brownies
  • Werther’s Toffee Bars

What we do, is once we have all the cookies made we put all the plates on our kitchen tables and counters and then work like an assembly line. Each tin gets two of each cookies until we run out of trays and/or cookies. I tend to over bake, so we usually run out of plates first. When that happens we usually just double back and add cookies until they’re all gone. 

The finishing touch is a few pieces of candy on top or some chocolate covered pretzels, whatever you decide!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 22, 2011 in Desserts

 

Leave a Reply

 
